Connect with us

Multiplexer

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by dwn, Mar 14, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. dwn

dwn

Feb 22, 2015
    Hello,

I am studying digital electronics and currently having a little difficulty constructing circuits based on a boolean statement. The circuit I am trying to build is one using an 8 to 1 multiplexer. I clearly understand the concept of the multiplexer, in that it directs the output based on certain inputs -- in my case, 3 switches. I have attached an image to help clarify the circuit I am trying to build.
    What I don't understand is how do we determine where to hook up the input terminals (D0 to D7)? I have constructed a truth table from the boolean equation; however, I'm not sure if it is accurate, but if it is, how to then transfer that logic to the MUX.

Any explanation anyone can offer would be very helpful. Thank you.

Attached Files:

2. hevans1944

hevans1944 Hop - AC8NS

Jun 21, 2012
    The 74151 will select one, and only one, of its D0, ... , D7 data inputs for presentation at the Y output on pin 5, based on the input-select bits A,B,C. This can be used to implement Boolean logic by connecting appropriate D0, ... , D7 inputs to either logic "1" (Vcc) or logic "0" (GND) levels. The Boolean equation you have given for Y resolves to D3 or D6 or D4 or D5. So connect those inputs to logic "1" and connect the remaining data inputs to logic "0". The Y output will then satisfy the specified Boolean equation for any combination of A, B, and C.

You should flll out an eight row truth table showing C, B, A at the top and highlight the rows that result in Y=1 for the given Boolean expression. For the example given: CBA = 011 or 110 or 100 or 101 all produce Y=1 so D3, D6, D4, and D5 are connected to logic "1" and the other data inputs are connected to ground.

dwn likes this.
  3. dwn

dwn

Feb 22, 2015