Connect with us

Multimeter Question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by jamie64, Sep 14, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. jamie64

jamie64

Sep 14, 2017
    Ive just bought myself a multimeter (tacklife dm06).Ive noticed that the maximum range for testing current is 600ma.Im new to electronics but that sounds low and would limit me on what i could test,any advice would be welcome.

2. Chemelec

Chemelec

Jul 12, 2016
    You could make a Low 0.1 Ohm or 0.01 Ohm, "Shunt Resistor", Than measure the Voltage across it to get a direct readout of the Current flow.

3. Externet

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
    Go back to the store and exchange it for the model that pleases you.

4. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    What are you going to measure? 600 mA are good for 3 W at 5 V operating voltage, often good enough for small electronics projects. Otherwise I agree with Externet. While extending the range with a shunt resistor is possible, this is cumbersome and requires a precision resistor to give useful readings. Plus you always have to juri-rig the setup with the resistor, the meter and some wires.
    It also incurs a risk of electric shock when measuring on higher voltage (mains) lines.

5. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    A multimeter is a tool that you may end up using for many decades and if it's chosen correctly it will return a lifetime of service that you'll be very upset to lose should it go wrong.

Consequently you need to make the right decision from the outset. With even the budget you've used for this particular model there are many, many BETTER meters available - I'm curious as to what your thought processes were when chosing that particular model?

6. dorke

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
    You are correct , 0.6A is very low! and mostly not practical.
    They usually measure up to 10A.
    How much did you pay for it?

7. hevans1944

hevans1944 Hop - AC8NS

Jun 21, 2012