Connect with us

Moving up the chain?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Members Lounge' started by GreenGiant, Feb 20, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. GreenGiant

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
    As many of you know I worked for a large scale battery company, in the R&D deparment for lithium batteries. I was only a Senior Engineering Technician doing almost nothing to do with electronics, or anything I went to school for.

So up until friday of last week this was true, I'm now working for a Biological storage company (we make huge freezers that store biological samples as evidence, or for later use, etc) Im working for the electrical department of R&D here,so it has moved to a much more familiar area. My title has also improved, I'm now a full on Electrical Engineer (one of the main reasons I took the job over the loyalty I heald to my first one). The pay increase isn't as large as I thought it would be but its still the title that I wanted (well almost, Electronics Engineer would be better but still, I'm an engineer).

As a result I may not be able to get on here as much for the time being, I will try to get on and add my 2 cents to posts here and there as I can (especially when it'll rile up CocaCola or KrisBlueNZ :p)

Any advice for me now that I have been out of school for almost a year and have already achieved the rank of Engineer?

Also any book recommendations for learning C# and for maintaining knowledge of C++ would be great (need both as well as visual basic for this job, though I already have a book for VB)

Green

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Congratulations, but remember, you are an engineer because of your knowledge and the way you approach a task, not because of the title you have.

But it's nice to have the title :)

3. GreenGiant

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012