Connect with us

moving from a development board to a bread board

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by dniym, Jul 24, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. dniym

dniym

Jul 24, 2012
    First of I am quite new to the world of micro controllers, transistors and such.
    That being said please forgive any stupid questions or lack of information that I am sure to fail to provide.

I have a development board which I used to program a 20 pin micro controller, the software side of it is working as desired and I would now like to move this project to a breadboard.

My supply voltage is 12 volts DC,
    This 12 volts will be running through a 5 volt voltage regulator to feed the micro controller.
    The outputs of the pic will trigger several NPN style transistors which will turn on LEDs connected to said outputs. (the LEDs are pre-wired for 12 volt operation)

Thus they will have a common annode connected to +12v and their cathodes will be switched to ground via the transistors. (low side switching)

My hurdle at the moment is the oscilliator clock frequency, on my board it's a simple 2 pin quartz style 8mhz oscillator.

This appears to run through a pair of resistors which appear to be ~3 megaohm
    My pins that the OSC connects to are RA1 and RA5, is this as simple as connecting the osc between these two pins with a 3 megaohm resistance between them? The end unit will be subject to vibration, is there something I should be using other than the crystal?

Here is a sketch of what the end design is so far, if something looks way off or isn't clear please let me know!

[​IMG]

2. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
    Read the datasheet for your mico and the datasheet for your oscillator the chips are capacitors, values will be specified usually in the datasheet for your mico...