Connect with us

Motor project

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by SB0202022, Feb 16, 2012.

1. SB0202022

SB0202022

Oct 27, 2010
    Ok so I have a small project I would like to do that I have some questions I would like answered. Im building a project with a 220 volt small dc motor, and I want to literally power this thing straight from the wall. I have limited knowledge on the subject, and I looking at online guides has provided little light to me.

1. I know that you have to rectify the voltage from AC to DC from the wall sockect to the motor, but how do I plan on amplifying the voltage from my little 120vac to 6.3 volt dc transformer to a 220 volt motor? And my understanding on current is very small, how do I determine the current avaible from the wall and how much power this motor is going to use?

2. I have the tools, but not the knowledge. I was searching online for ways to amplify voltage, and I came across something called a "cascade voltage amplifier". Does this amplify voltage, but reduce current? And how would the motor work if their was little current and a lot of voltage?(is that even possible?

2. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    I think we'll need some additional clarifications of the hardware for starters:
    1: what type of motor is it (permanent magnet/ universal/ aynchronous)?
    2: what are the spec's of the motor (V, A, W, rpm, hp, etc.)?
    3: what are the spec's of the transformer (VA rating etc.)?
    4: what is your mains voltage?

A cascode voltage amplifier is not what you want. It's something akin to your stereo. It needs a power supply and a control signal.
    A motor needs a specific minimum curent in order to overcome its friction and turn.
    The wire gauge it's wound with determines voltage and current, like in a transformer.

3. jackorocko

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010