Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Motor Driven Focuser

p1taylor

Jun 24, 2012
Hi all, I am very new to this, what I am trying to do is drive my telescope focuser with a Epson EM-483 Stepper Motor, have all the electrics out of printer, what I would like to do is have 2 push buttons 1 forward and 1 revers, do not need it connected to computer option would be OK.

peter

p1taylor

Jun 24, 2012
Hi, I have bean Reading a lot, the stepper motor I have is bipolar 4 wires 1and 3=3.4hom, 2and 4 3.4 hom any other is infinite as fare as I can tell it bipolar, so I need to do micro steps to give about 3000 or 4800 steps per rev so what do I need to get this, am lost in electronics, as fare as I see it do I go for 2 H-Bridge L293D or what, found what may be beter motor 28YB-48 stepper motor, if you need any more inf just let me know,

peter

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
are you going to be using a microcontroller to control the stepper motor?
or do you have a some ICs that are going to pulse correctly for it?

If you want it to be more accurate you may be better off trying to use a servo, these can increment in tiny amounts and many can spin any number of times

p1taylor

Jun 24, 2012
Hi, This may be silly but what is a microcontroller, do not have any ic, will a servo have power to do job, engineering is simple electronics I am lost, if I have a diagram can do it.

peter

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
How were you planning on turning the stepper motor?
Unless the ones that you are looking at have a controller board with them that you can control the speed with you need some form of control circuitry or programming through a microcontroller.

A microcontroller is technically a small IC that can be programmed to do many different things based on inputs, timing, and outputs.