Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Motion Alarm Help

Alex Scott

Jul 3, 2014
Hey guys, so I've got this kit as i'm new to the world of electronics and plan to learn, so I have these DIY kits that provide you with the components and a PCB and you solder it all yourself, I have made plenty of these successfully, my soldering technique is fine, all the solder joints appear to be fine however i'm having an issue.

There are 2 PCB's to this project, one transmitter and receiver. Both have LEDs on the end and when that path is blocked, a sound/alarm is made through a speaker.

Now everything appears to be fine except when I turn the PCB with the speaker on, it just constantly makes the noise. Now I know both parts are working, when I place the transmitter infront of the receiver, the frequency slightly changes so the 2 units are definitely registering that the other unit is there and everything appears to be working fine and the LED's are "seeing" each other. I have plenty of tools and a multimeter to test things, where would I begin testing what is wrong here?

This is a link to the unit in question, I have attached 2 photos of my completed boards. Thoughts on any of this?

http://www.velleman.co.uk/contents/en-uk/p46.html

Attachments

• receiver.jpg
    receiver.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 130
  • trans.jpg
    trans.jpg
    96.8 KB · Views: 138

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
If you put them really close together, does it work?

Can you confirm (with the aid of your mobile phone camera) that the LEDs in the transmitter light up? Your mobile phone camera will probably detect the glow from the IR LEDs.

How does the sound change when you bring the light source into alignment with the sensor?

Can you post a component overlay of both of these boards (but especially the receiver)? A circuit diagram would be good too.

This is what's on the web site and is clearly insufficient. And it's even worse that the put the component designation UNDER the component! Aaaagh!