Maker Pro
Maker Pro

modifying a multimeter

DrGuy

Jul 21, 2012
Hello guys,

Newbie here with some questions :)

I need to make some resistance measurements, but my DMM has to high of an amplification for the sensitive parts I am trying to measure. Even on a good fluke DMM It still has a relatively high current. From my research a micro-ohm low resistance meter would be ideal, but it's a bit costly and overkill for what I need. I was thinking of making a circuit to reduce the measuring current that my DMM uses for Ohm measurements.

Any tips from the pros?

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
What is "amplification for the sensitive parts" mean?
What are you trying to measure?
Is it particularly voltage sensitive or current sensitive?
If your trying to measure way up into many megohms you can place a charged capacitor on the device and see how fast the charge dissipates.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Your description isn't very clear. Are you saying the current your DMM generates for testing resistance is too high? It might damage the components you're testing?

I think it would be crazy to try to muck around inside the multimeter. I would use an external current source, with a suitably low current, to provide the test current, and use the multimeter on voltage range. If your components have a low resistance, the low current will mean that the voltage drop is low; if the multimeter can't measure voltages that low, you would also need an instrumentation-type amplifier.

In any case you should use the four-terminal method if possible - connect the current source near the ends of the component's leads, and the voltage monitor near the middle of the leads, so that any resistance in the connection between the current source and the component doesn't cause the measured voltage to increase.

Google will find circuits for current sources and DC amplifiers. If you can clarify your needs, please do so here.

DrGuy

Jul 21, 2012