Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Modifying a led strip circuit

deepred

Mar 13, 2017
Hi, I apologize for my English in advance, I'm stuck with a "maybe" simple problem, I'm a total newbie when it comes to electronics so im trying to make this led strip permanent on instead of switching led patterns
http://imgur.com/a/0Yokv

I had an old strip and randomly tried to shortcut some wires on the resistors in order to see the result, i know that was stupid, and no clues in the end beside a broken led string.

Is it that complicated?
Thanks in advance

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
If the controller of your LED strip is designed to switch patterns then that is what it will do. If you want an LED strip to make permanent light then buy one that is designed to light permanently.

deepred

Mar 13, 2017
If the controller of your LED strip is designed to switch patterns then that is what it will do. If you want an LED strip to make permanent light then buy one that is designed to light permanently.

Unfortunately that kind of LED strip wasn't available and still isn't I stupidly assumed just bypassing the switch button would have allowed me to set it to a fix pattern.
Thanks for your reply

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
Como estas, (my wife is from Spain but I don't speak much Spanish). Millions of LED strips are sold on ebay.
My local electronics parts store has many LED strips.

deepred

Mar 13, 2017
Como estas, (my wife is from Spain but I don't speak much Spanish). Millions of LED strips are sold on ebay.
My local electronics parts store has many LED strips.

Hola to you too, I'm Italian tho :) the only ones i found according to my needing were those with a single colour and a button to make them light at various patterns, that's why i thought it was just a resistor value to be found and somehow replicated....It didn't worked obviously, the fact that i can change blinking patterns with a button is what gives me hope

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016