Connect with us

Model race car track controller

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by tip2tail, Oct 20, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. tip2tail

tip2tail

Oct 20, 2010
    Hi All,

I'm a bit of a newbie to this scene although I did a bit of basic electronics (designing an LED dice) in Uni many years ago.

I am however a computer programmer and I have been asked by a family member to attempt to replace the software that is used by their slot car club to:

• Control power to 4x lanes
    • Power 4x traffic lights for the starting system
    • Monitor 4x light sensors that act as the lap timers

The current software makes use of a kit that connects to the Parallel port on the PC however we would like to move this to USB in order to develop a more modern application and use a new PC that will not have a Parallel port.

Here are 2 basic diagrams for the current set-up:

Light Sensors:
    [​IMG]
    Power Control & Traffic Lights:
    [​IMG]

Is there anyone able to assist in making this kind of project?

Thanks,

tip2tail

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    2 observations:

1) Use LEDs instead of filament lamps.
    2) Tell us what you're actually trying to achieve.

I suspect you *may* be able to use a microcontroller instead of a PC. It will still play to your strengths as a programmer.

3. tip2tail

tip2tail

Oct 20, 2010
    Hi,

Thanks for your response - the fillement light bulbs are already in situ on a bridge over the track. They are not really part of the circut and are controled by a local switch and not by the PC.

Basically I want to be able to send signals to each of the 4 traffic lights to turn them on and off from the program, to be able to control the power to the each of the 4 lanes (the power is from an external power source) and finally monitor the light sensors so that when the car passes between the light source and the sensors I can count a new lap for that lane.