Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Mixing Woodworking and Electronics

crisagh

Oct 16, 2015
Hello all, I'm Cris and I'm a woodworker that's looking to incorporate some electronics projects into my other hobby.
I'm totally new to this experience so I'm hoping to learn lots.
Could someone direct me to the appropriate forum for equipment questions?

Frankly I'm in the very start of this experience and I'm shopping for my kit. Specifically I'm uncertain what direction to take with regards to the Soldering iron specifically. Unfortunately I've got information overload - and was hoping for some kind people to help me choose from 4 options based on what I want to do.

So I think I've narrowed it down but I'm flip flopping on the following options:
The Weller WLC100 40W station - seems to be the basic station and I can get it for around $40.
A cheap knock off of the above weller - I've seen variations for around $20.
A basic Weller pencil type (the 40W with LEDs is avail locally at HD for under 20 right now).
and finally this variable temp Hakko FX600 Pencil type (which honestly I'm drawn to as it seems to be a good mix of both worlds).
Or is this overkill for what I'm attempting and should I just get a cheap $10 type and replace as needed?

Essentially, I'm hoping to modify various electronic to fit some wooden art pieces. eg, my router to fit into a decorative wall piece. As I'm seeing it, this should be relatively simple - desoldering some connectors and reconnecting them via a length of wire. That sort of thing.
As far as "new" creations, I have a few ideas (such as LED lighting for some pieces) but again, not working with microprocessors or anything like that.