Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Minimal build circuit help

bodies

Mar 26, 2013
Hi everyone,

I am a network security engineer / pentester in South Carolina. I am trying to build an arduino project in a minimal form. The build calls for an atmega328 running with 16Mhz I don't see why this is necessary an would like to swap the atmega for an attiny85. I am a novice with electrical engineering having only gotten my arduino uno a few months ago and started messing with this stuff, I figured I would come here and ask for a more seasoned viewpoint. any advice would be great

The article I am trying to replicate is available here: http://blog.spiderlabs.com/2012/10/pentesting-hotels-with-pens.html

in the comments some users shared my same thoughts on the attiny minmal build but others had more questions on the schematics. could someone view the diagram at see if/what it will take to run on an attiny85 with a 6v a11 battery?

bodies

Mar 26, 2013
I specifically would like some help understanding how the zener diode is relevant in its position on the schematic. I know they are used as a rough voltage regulator but is is even being used in its current position on the diagram? more importantly would it be necessary if i am using a 6v a11 battery as the power source?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The zener diode clamps the supply voltage to 3.3V. It seems wasteful to use a 12V battery and a 3.3V zener.

The zener also helps protect the device if the battery is inserted around he wrong way.

Remember that a 6V battery may have a voltage higher than 6V when new (4 AA batteries will give you anything up to 6.8V when fresh.)

The operating voltage for an ATMega328 extends only to 5.5V, so 6V is too high, and 6.8 is worse. You could probably get away with a 5V zener.

There may be other reasons for a 3v3 Vcc though.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
I would suggest that you not try to use this to break into hotel rooms.

Bob

bodies

Mar 26, 2013