Connect with us

microsecond power loss durring relay switch over

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by kerpap, Feb 11, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. kerpap

    kerpap

    10
    0
    Jan 20, 2014
    I have a relay that switches between 2 power sources.
    I noticed that there is a microsecond loss of power to the load during the NC - NO switchover going from power source 1 to 2.

    im scratching my head. how to compensate for that micro second loss. I need continuous power to the load. the microsecond power loss causes the device receiving power to reboot.
     
  2. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    11,439
    2,627
    Nov 17, 2011
    Add a big capacitor across the output of the relay circuit to buffer the load while the relay is switching.

    by the way, you're lucky if you see only microseconds of interruption. A few milliseconds are far more typical for a relay.

    What are the voltages and currents were talking about?
     
  3. kerpap

    kerpap

    10
    0
    Jan 20, 2014
    That is what I figured. I am not sure though where to position the cap.
    12 volt.
    I also am planning to build a 9V variant.
    it is a solar to battery switch over.
     
  4. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    11,439
    2,627
    Nov 17, 2011
    The capacitor goes on the load side of the relays.
     
  5. kerpap

    kerpap

    10
    0
    Jan 20, 2014
    so, if I understand correctly it should look something like this?
    the line in red is there because I am not sure if it is needed. if I just put the cap, wont it block current? shouldn't it have an alternate path (red line) then once current stops the cap discharges.

    maybe im not understanding capacitors as well as I should.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. mursal

    mursal

    75
    0
    Dec 13, 2013
    Connect the capacitor across the load, one leg on the supply to the load from the relay, one leg on the return from the load (as if you were connecting a battery to drive the load). In other words, connect it in parallel with the load
    The capacitor may need to be connected in a certain way (polarity), so if one leg is marked negative (-) it must go to the return from the motor.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  7. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    11,439
    2,627
    Nov 17, 2011
    No, like this:
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • bla.jpg
      bla.jpg
      File size:
      32.2 KB
      Views:
      207
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-