Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Microcontrollers adding data

richieec

Nov 10, 2012
I'm studying now microcontrollers , and i have to do a program in pic 16f84a in c(pcw ccs compiler). This program must add a bit from PORTA with 05h data and the result must show in PORTB. PORTB = PORTA + 05H.

SO this is the program i have done, it's compile without errors, but in the circuit it doens't works well. I don't know what are the errors, If someone could help me, i would greatly apreciate.

#include <16f84a.h>
#fuses xt, nowdt
#use delay(clock= 4000000)
#byte portb = 6
#byte porta = 5
int main(){
int w = 5 ;

set_tris_b(0x00);
set_tris_a(0x1F);

while(true){
w = porta + w;
portb = w;
}
}

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
PICs are not my domain, but:

1) Have you ensured Port A is set to input and Port B is set to output? Usually you have to do some setup to control the data direction of I/O ports, but I don't see any code for this.

2) Your compiler may be too "intelligent" for this program :p
An optimizing compiler will recognize that porta is not changed by the program and thus will (possibly) eliminate the instruction from within the loop. This may not be the case with your compiler, but I don't know. Some compilers require that I/O-ports be defined as "volatile". That way the compiler assumes that the "variable" porta may change any time and will not eliminate the instructions from within the loop.

3) This loop
Code:
while(true){
w = porta + w;
portb = w;
}
doesn't do what you describe. The line " w = porta + w;" is iterated in every loop cycle. Do the following "Gedankenexperiment":
assume w=5 (as set by your first statement before the loop)
assume porta=1
what becomes of w by "w = porta + w;"?
When the loop starts the next cycle, what will w be after the same statement? Obviously you should not change w within the loop. Use a separate variable or do something like this:
Code:
portb = porta + w;