Connect with us

micro chip info

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by hamonza, Mar 10, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. hamonza

hamonza

Mar 10, 2011
    hey guys

i am new to microprocessors can anyone please tell what does the PWM module and the ADC module do in a micro in relation to running a DC motor

thanks

2. rob_croxford

rob_croxford

Aug 3, 2010
    The ADC module of a microcontroller can be hooked up to a potentionometer... the variable voltage is then converted to a digital voltage (level dependant on the resolution of the ADC) this digital value can then be used by the PWM module to set the duty cycle of the PWM signal. This signal (with a few external components) can be used to control the speed of a DC motor.

3. hamonza

hamonza

Mar 10, 2011
    hey thanks for that
    so yo know where i could find a schematics for running a dc motor through a microchip in other words speed test of a dc motor

4. rob_croxford

rob_croxford

Aug 3, 2010
    All you really need is a FET with a gate to drain resistance high enough that it will drop all the way to zero. Either that or a pull down resistor that goes to -5 volts on the gate pin of the FET.

Like this:

Imagine that pin five is your PWM output from the pic and the motor to be in paralell with the diode.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  5. hamonza

hamonza

Mar 10, 2011
    PWM micro schematics

hey guys can anyone help me with sample schematics to run a DC motor (speed control) with a 18pin pic18F2550 or any 18 pin micro

6. rob_croxford

rob_croxford

Aug 3, 2010
    Exactly the same as the schematic posted early however the gate pin of the FET is connected to the PWM output of the pic

7. hamonza

hamonza

Mar 10, 2011
    hey thanks for that rob will it also be possible to use inbuilt DAC to drive a panel meter (0 – 200mV input) or similar???

8. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010