Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Mic preamp repair help!

Fangsstl

Apr 10, 2018
Hi folks,

I have a 2 channel microphone preamp that no longer receives signal from the input jack. Neither channel works anymore. The unit does power on, but no audio goes in or out. I am a total novice to electronics. I know kinda how to solder and I have changed pickups in my guitar before. I think I may have found some bad capacitors in the circuit board, but I'm not sure. I could just be seeing adhesive. Here's some pictures.

The first 2 pictures are capacitors from both sides of the board. I assume 1 for each channel. The third is a reference image to show a healthier looking capacitor on the board. Not sure if the brown stuff is guts from the blue cap leaking out, or if its just adhesive. The last picture is a chip on the board that has some shiny stuff around it. Again I'm not sure if that's just normal adhesive or if it's a problem. Those were the only visually suspect things I could find on the board.

Any input would be appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_1724.JPG
    IMG_1724.JPG
    265 KB · Views: 99
  • IMG_1726.JPG
    IMG_1726.JPG
    198.5 KB · Views: 100
  • IMG_1728.JPG
    IMG_1728.JPG
    211.7 KB · Views: 90
  • IMG_1731.JPG
    IMG_1731.JPG
    298.2 KB · Views: 92

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
Sir Fangsstl . . . . .
  • 1 . . . . .Glue/goo
  • 2 . . . . .Glue/goo
  • 3 . . . . .Glue/Goo
  • 4 . . . . . Superfluous . . . . .heavy on the fluous . . . . rosin flux
Now give us the units brand and model number, as should have been done initially.

73's de Edd

KJ6EAD

Aug 13, 2011
The residue on the top of the capacitor, C300 in image 1726, is a potential problem. It's out of focus, but looks more like electrolyte than glue. Does the PCB hang upside down in use?

The glue around the bottoms of the various capacitors is no problem.