Connect with us

Meter recommendation

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by Sternwheeler, Mar 18, 2018.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Sternwheeler

Sternwheeler

Mar 18, 2018
    Hello everyone! I’m an electronics noob. I’m following the service manual to repair an old Akai reel-to-reel tape deck. I need to check bias voltage (supposed to be around 105V, AC, 95 kHz) as I have a weak recording channel. The manual says to use a vacuum tube voltmeter. Is there a modern equivalent, or should I hit eBay? Also, given I’m working on a 50, perhaps 60-year-old piece of equipment, will RMS be relevant? I have no idea what was available in meters back then.

Since I will need a frequency counter, I guess, to check the frequency, wouldn’t an oscilloscope handle both of these tasks for me at the same time? Then I only have to buy one tool. Perhaps it measures voltage differently?

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    The recommendation for a vacuum tube meter is from a time when a typical instrument used to have a comparatively low inner resistance which would have burdened the bias voltage circuit and thus would have led to false readings. A modern multimeter with >= 1 MΩ inner resistance is well suitable. For about 40 € you can get hold of a decent multimeter which also offers frequency measurement, e.g. UNI-T UT139C True RMS Digital Multimeter or similar.

Yes and no. Yes, an oscilloscope will allow you to measure both amplitude and frequency of the signal. Plus you'll be able to see the waveform. The accuracy of an oscilloscope is, however, usually much less than the accuracy of a good multimeter. At least in the price range of affordable ones.

3. 73's de Edd

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
    Sir Sternwheeler . . . .
    You say . . . the magic and defining words

as I have a weak recording channel.