Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Merge Two Stereo Signals Into One

DaveHoffman

Sep 27, 2014
Greetings! I'm no electronics engineer, so I thought this would be a good place to get some advice. I'm doing some recording and need to merge the audio out from my computer to the audio out from my mixer.

I know that I can't just use a Y-connector for that and would instead need to add resistors to each of the lines from the computer and mixer. But I was wondering if there was an off the shelf solution.

Never mind. I'm going to use two headphone volume control cables and a Y-adapter.

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
A headphone splitter in reverse would probably have too low an impedance.

I would place a resistor (between 1k and 10k) in series with the signal outputs, then join the ends of these resistors together and that will be your combined output.

mixer.png

Inputs on the left, output on the right. R1 and R2 should be the same value.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Greetings! I'm no electronics engineer, so I thought this would be a good place to get some advice. I'm doing some recording and need to merge the audio out from my computer to the audio out from my mixer.

I know that I can't just use a Y-connector for that and would instead need to add resistors to each of the lines from the computer and mixer. But I was wondering if there was an off the shelf solution.

Never mind. I'm going to use two headphone volume control cables and a Y-adapter.
Can you not feed your computer audio out to an input on the mixer to handle this for you?

DaveHoffman

Sep 27, 2014
A headphone splitter in reverse would probably have too low an impedance.

I would place a resistor (between 1k and 10k) in series with the signal outputs, then join the ends of these resistors together and that will be your combined output.

View attachment 15562

Inputs on the left, output on the right. R1 and R2 should be the same value.
Would a 10k resistor give less volume than a 1k?

(*steve*)