Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Measuring the time between two electrical pulses.

Daniel Watkin

May 20, 2014
Hello. This is my first post here. Name is Daniel and have been interested in joining for a while but never had a good reason to do so, I'm completely new to this and know nothing, but would like to learn, if that enough?. I wasn't sure where to put this please tell me if its in the wrong place. So this is what I need, I'm assuming this is doable, but needs to be done in a cost effective way, otherwise its just worth buying what I need. So here is the story. I race radio control cars as a hobby, we would like to know how fast our cars go, but can't really afford a speed gun. I have two IR beam break detectors that set off a buzzer when broken. I was thinking that the buzzers could be removed, and linked to something else that times the space between when the two beams are broken,when placed a known set distance apart and then work it out from there. Is that even possible? What would I need to time this with? is there a cheaper way to do it? I could sound like a complete idiot right now and not know haha. Anyway, thanks for reading if you got this far, any advice appreciated!

Daniel

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome Daniel to our forum.

Of course you can build a timer circuit that is startet by the first detector and stopped by the second detector. SInce you admit having no experience. th eonly way that makes sense would be buying a kit for such a stopwatch.
With some knowledge, you may be able to modifiy an off the shelf stopwatch.