Connect with us

Measurement device

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by dsoileau, Dec 17, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. dsoileau

dsoileau

Dec 17, 2017
    I'm an electronics novice, so please pardon my ignorance in asking this question. I'm wanting to know how to use mechanical contacts to provide feedback (LED) of positions on a continuum (measuring tape). Start is zero, pressing a contact on any point of measurement would report that specific measurement in units. Thanks in advance.

2. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    If the tape has regular markings on it you can use opto-devices to record the number of 'marks' that pass under the sensor. Its accuracy would only be as good as the actual markings on the tape though.

Another method would be to couple the centre of the tape reel to a slotted disk with a much higher resolution of slots - such disks can be found in junk printers, as can the required opto detectors. You then need some form of processing device (micro-controller) to display the reading.

It's not a 'novice' task I can assure you!

There will be stuff like that on the market if you need one specifically but making one without the requisite skills will be very difficult.

dsoileau likes this.
  3. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    I am trying to decode what it is you are trying to do.

If I understand you, you have a linear measure, marked as usual, and you want to be able to press at various marks and get a output that encodes the position at which it is pressed.

If that is correct, what you need is a linear membrane potentiometer, like this:

membrane potentiometer

This will give a resistance that depends on where you press it. A microcontroller could read it with its analog to digital converter and report the position via LEDs.

Bob

dsoileau likes this.
  4. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    How does a digital caliper work?

dsoileau likes this.
  5. dsoileau

dsoileau

Dec 17, 2017