Connect with us

Measure temp, humidity, brightness

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by davidova, Dec 1, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. davidova

davidova

Dec 1, 2017
    Hi guys!
    I have to make a project which includes the rs232 protocol and must be programmed in assembly language.
    I decided to measure the temperature, humidity and brightness in the room. All I know is that I need 3 sensors, a protoboard, and that stuff I need to connect with the computer through a serial communication.
    I really have no idea how to realize this :)
    Any help?
    Тhanks

2. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    Arduino, appropriate sensors based on I2C comms, software to collect and send via RS232 port or USB-enabled serial link.

3. davidova

davidova

Dec 1, 2017
    Thank you for replying.
    Is there no other way, without arduino?
    I am pretty new in electronics.
    Have a nice evening

4. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    There are, of course, other methods however you have to convert the sensor data to a form that you can manipulate for serial transmission.

'Raw' sensors will have an analogue output which will require conversion to a digital signal hence the recommendation for the already-converted signals offered by I2C devices - the I2C is the communication protocol between the sensor and the micro controller suggested. You could use other processors..... basic 8-bit like 8085, 6502 (old school), PIC processors, STM32 etc etc.. the markets are replete with various options.

Either way you will be required to manipulate serial data in some form or other - for that is what RS232 is - and doing it with something other than a processor would be tedious to say the least - signal processing, analogue to digital conversions, parallel to serial etc.