Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Meaning of BATERRY polarity

lefam

Nov 18, 2010
Hi guys!

I am pretty new to electronics. I am having some problems with my first circuits and I am now suspecting that maybe my understanding of battery polarity is wrong.

So, my question is: in batteries (example 9V alkaline) the (+) terminal is +Vs, and the (-) terminal is GROUND?

(+) terminal = +Vcc?
(-) terminal = GROUND?

I have been using (-) like +Vs and (+) like GROUND. Probably the cause of failure in my first circuits.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Hi guys!

I am pretty new to electronics. I am having some problems with my first circuits and I am now suspecting that maybe my understanding of battery polarity is wrong.

So, my question is: in batteries (example 9V alkaline) the (+) terminal is +Vs, and the (-) terminal is GROUND?

(+) terminal = +Vcc?
(-) terminal = GROUND?

I have been using (-) like +Vs and (+) like GROUND. Probably the cause of failure in my first circuits.

why would you have even considered connecting the - to the + ?? thats not logical :confused:
+ to + and - to - always

reversing the polarity of the power if a surefire way of killing the intergrated circuits etc

(+) terminal = +Vcc?
(-) terminal = GROUND?.

No ( - ) terminal = Negative, always call ( - ) the Negative terminal, see next comments

Negative ( - ) would normally be Ground (tho there are some exceptions)
you would usually only see a Ground label if the ( - ) part of the circuit was connect to the chassis of the equip, which was then connected to ground via the "earth" (ground) lead of the mains power lead.

cheers
Dave

Last edited:

lefam

Nov 18, 2010
To power a circuit (for example the 555 IC), what should I connect where they ask for +Vs (PIN8 in the case of the 555 IC)? The (+) terminal from the battery or the (-) terminal?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009