Connect with us

Massage Chair Fault

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by jdogg, Nov 19, 2011.

1. jdogg

jdogg

Nov 19, 2011
    Hi. I have a massage chair that is failing to complete an initializing sequence at start up and therefore will not operate. I have limited electronics knowledge and found a capacitor with a split skin on one of the circuit boards. I've replaced that but it has made no change to the fault. I was wondering if it is likely to be an IC problem. Any suggestions are greatfully received as I can't justify buying another chair. Thanks.

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Show us a picture of the circuit board.

Also give us specs on the capacitor that was removed and what you replaced it with.

3. jdogg

jdogg

Nov 19, 2011
    Circuit Boards

Hi Steve. Thanks for your reply.
    The old capacitor has 103K 630V printed on it and the replacement I was given at the electronics shop has 2J103K on it.
    I've taken a picture of both boards as a whole and a close up of the replaced capacitor which has the old one and a spare new one in the foreground. The old one has a burn mark right where the split is. It's on the other side to the writing. Let me know if you need a pic of that.
    To see the location on the board, look at the left board towards the top just above the heat sinks. This board was mounted in the back section of the chair and presumably controls all the motors with all those relays. The other board was mounted in the base under the chair which I guess is the unit that interfaces with the control pad.

Thanks

Attached Files:

4. (*steve*)

Jan 21, 2010
    Can you show me an inage of the "split" in the old capacitor, and indicate if this side was pointing to the laet or right in the first image.

I am suspecting that the damage may have been caused by the transistor to the right.