Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Marantz 2230B with Weak FM

KilgoreCemetery

Apr 12, 2017
I've been troubleshooting this one for a while, but I'm no radio expert. Basically, strong stations won't tune in Stereo and a lot of weaker stations don't come in at all. The stereo light works when I switch to Phono, Aux, and Tape, but won't come on with even the strongest local station. Plus, there is no stereo separation (I listened with headphones and everything). The Mono switch is Off. The Signal Strength meter barely moves. We're talking 1-2mm from total static to the strongest station. It also never gets more than a few millivolts at either pin.

I have other receivers/tuners that get stereo separation with the local station. Adding a dipole antenna helps pull in some of the weaker stations, but doesn't change anything else. Still no stereo separation or an increase in meter movement with an antenna.

I've been able to rule out the front end by jumpering in the front end from a Pioneer SX-680. Still no Stereo and no change in meter movement. Also, I checked all of the voltages at the transistors on the P200 IF board. They are all slightly low at around 300-400mV less than what the schematic specifies. The only exception was at transistor H205.
Base: 2.177v instead of 3.3v
Emitter: 1.572v instead of 2.7v
Collector: 13.20v instead of 13.6v

However, I did pull and test H205 with a cheap component tester and it seems fine. The hFE and Vf matches the datasheet almost exactly. This is a 2SC1047. I'd really have to search through the scrap pile for a replacement if it came down to replacing it

I also tested all of the diodes on the board in circuit with my multimeter. And, I tested all of the electrolytic capacitors with my ESR meter. They're all within specs.

Beyond that, I'm kinda at a loss as where to go next. I feel like if I knew more about how this all worked, the lack of meter movement would tell me exactly where to look. Can you guys help me out?