Connect with us

Man-over-board alarmsystem

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by isis91, Nov 23, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. isis91

isis91

Nov 23, 2012
    Hi! I'm new to this forum and im hoping for help. We are sig guys who are going sailing for a year. I want to build a system that sets of an alarm if anyone was to fall overboard. Im new to working with microcontrollers etc. but i have tried to read up on the subject and i think ive come up with a working idea. I would very much appreciate any help or ideas you can give me. I can program C fairly well.

The system has to be extremely low-cost as we are on a very tight budget. I'm thinking that everyone onboard will wear a radio transmitter that constantly transmits a "code" to a base unit. If the base unit hasnt received one of the six individual codes in 15 seconds it sets of an alarm.

Im planning to do it this way, with everyone wearing a module that transmits to a base. If you have abetter idea of how to do it, im all ears.

The module

Ill get this microcontroller as it is cheap and has a low energymode that seems suitable for my needs. There are both cheaper and more eneryeffecient uC ive found, but the atemel programmers are so much cheaper that they get a lower total anyhow.

The uC will be connected to this radio transmitter. Ive found that the transmitter would require an antenna of about 30cm length. Can the antenna be any normal piece of copper wire? can i have it coiled? i want to wear the final unit as you would a wrist watch.

I will power the components with a buttoncell battery at 3v and 1Ah. Hopefully this will get me about a year of batterylife i think. I guess. I hope?

Would i need a crystal to get the uC runnig? would i need a voltage regulator? Im thinking that it doesnt matter very much that the unit transmits at perfectly regular intervals, nor that the voltage is stable.