Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Making a Solar Powered USB Charger

captainam3rica

Jun 17, 2011
So I'm trying to make a solar powered usb charger, below is my circuit diagram. With it set up this way, it charges up fine to about 4.9v but then when I plug my ipod into it, it shows it's charging for a few seconds then the voltage drops to about 4.5v and then drains at a constant rate from there about 0.1v every second or two.

I tried adding in another AA to give me about 6v to try and counter the voltage drop, but when I plug in my ipod nothing happens. Thinking that 6v may be too much for devices that are supposed to use 5v, I tried some different resistors going from the batteries to USB with no luck, the ipod does nothing.

It seems this should be a simple fix but I'm a beginner so I'm stuck. All help is appreciated, thanks.

L5qOk.jpg

Last edited:

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
Try it without the diodes. Connected as shown they'll prevent both charging the AA's and the Ipod. Besides, not all solar panels needs reverse protection diodes.

captainam3rica

Jun 17, 2011
doh, I drew the diode in the wrong spot again. There is only one diode, coming from the + of the solar panels. (picture fixed above)

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
Ok, that looks better. Still, 4.9V is way too low to get a charge on those AA's. 5.9V would have been approximately fully charged. Tell us more about those panels.

captainam3rica

Jun 17, 2011
How is 4.9v too low? 4 AA's at 1.2v each is 4.8v and usb devices charge with about 4.75-5v.

The panels are from little LED garden lights. The two in series give me about 5.88V in the shade on a sunny day. Not sure about the mA, not sure how to measure that with my multimeter.

I tried just charging the batteries up and then hooking the USB port directly to the batteries and it does the same thing, so is there just something not right about my USB layout?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
How is 4.9v too low? 4 AA's at 1.2v each is 4.8v and usb devices charge with about 4.75-5v.