Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Mains to 5v?

RodRitter

Apr 1, 2015
Hello all,

I'm looking for some advice as I'm a programmer and not 100% sure about my electronic skills.

I've been messing around with some Arduino stuff and controlling things remotely, but this has been on a small scale. I've created a control system to remotely control outputs via a web interface.

All I have left to do is to research how I'm going to implement it into wall light switches. I've never played with anything bigger than 12v so I'd appreciate any advice on where I can learn how to utilize the mains power to keep some small circuitry powered. I assume using some sort of switch or voltage regulator will handle this? I'd also like advice on safety, etc.

Thank you!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Get a mains powered USB charger. An old phone charger is likely to be a good option.

shumifan50

Jan 16, 2014
The biggest problem you will have is fitting it into a light switch box as space is normally at a premium. You might be able to do it in the ceiling (which is what I did) rather than in the light switch itself. You have to be very careful when you do this ensuring that it is not easy to touch the high voltage connector(s) easily - preferably enclose them inside the casing.
If you just want to use these in your own house, be aware that it might invalidate your buildings insurance unless you get it certified by an electrician (and I am not even sure if this is enough in RSA). The law regarding Certificate Of Compliance (COC) for electrical installations is quite rigid in South Africa.