Connect with us

ltspice

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Steven Tyson, Aug 30, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Steven Tyson

Steven Tyson

Aug 30, 2016
    can anyone tell is ltspice accurate...would you recommend it?

2. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    I have used ltspice very little. The accuracy will depend on the models you employ, the components are only approximations to the real world.

What do you mean by accuracy?

I have used 5spice as the circuit seems to be easier to enter but the free version is limited.

3. Steven Tyson

Steven Tyson

Aug 30, 2016
    ACCURACY LIKE WAVEFORMS OR JUST ANYTHING I CAN MEASURE IN THAT SOFTWARE...I'M NEW TO THAT SOFTWARE, DAVE JONES FROM E.E. BLOG ON YOUTUBE RECOMMENDS IT..I'M ALSO TRYING TO ADD MODELS TO MY LIBRARY, BOY I'M TO BUSY TRYING TO FIGURE THIS STUFF OUT...OH WELL I'M PATIENT UNTILL I'M ALL SET....HEY THANKS FOR THE INFO

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 7, 2016
  4. Alec_t

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
    I can definitely recommend LTspice. A fairly steep learning curve, but worth it.

Steven Tyson likes this.
  5. Steven Tyson

Steven Tyson

Aug 30, 2016
    hey thanks alect_t and duke37....i'm new to this forum and i'll bet i'll learn a great great deal in the future

6. OBW0549

OBW0549

Jul 5, 2016
    Yes, I'd certainly recommend it; Spice can be a huge time-saver (it can also be a huge time-waster, but that's another matter) and it can be a valuable tool for gaining confidence that a design will probably do what you actually intended it to do, and for catching major design blunders. It is also often good for playing "What if...?" and seeing what effect changing component values or circuit configuration might have on a design. It can also drastically speed up the process of troubleshooting a design to see why it isn't behaving as intended, and evaluating the probable effectiveness of various corrective measures.