Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LTSpice phase angle of RC circuit, why is phase angle increasing with frequency?

Daniel Hamilton

May 30, 2016
Hi I'm really new to electronics so sorry if my question has an obvious answer,

I started using LTSpice today and i've spent far to long trying to figure out why my circuit has a decreasing (increasingly negative) phase angle between Vs an I as i increase the frequency of the source?Capture.PNG

I though RC circuits lose their capacitive reactance as frequency increases and become relatively more resistive, thus reducing the phase angle tan^-1(xc/r)
but the software seems to say otherwise
btw i'm not having this problem with RL circuits, the phase angle makes sense there. I've placed the positive end of the probe between the resistor and capacitor. also when i place the probe between the resistor and the source i get a flat line, is this because the two ends of the probe are shorting through the source?

Many thanks!! for any replies, this has me fairly frustrated

Ratch

Mar 10, 2013
Hi I'm really new to electronics so sorry if my question has an obvious answer,

I started using LTSpice today and i've spent far to long trying to figure out why my circuit has a decreasing (increasingly negative) phase angle between Vs an I as i increase the frequency of the source?View attachment 27156

I though RC circuits lose their capacitive reactance as frequency increases and become relatively more resistive, thus reducing the phase angle tan^-1(xc/r)
btw i'm not having this problem with RL circuits, the phase angle makes sense there. I've placed the positive end of the probe between the resistor and capacitor. also when i place the probe between the resistor and the source i get a flat line, is this because the two ends of the probe are shorting through the source?

Many thanks!! for any replies, this has me fairly frustrated

Sometimes, you got to look at the algebra of a circuit instead of a simulator to see what is going on.

Hamilton.JPG