Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Looking for ideas

JFS-Chatt

Jan 7, 2015
Hi all,

I'm a middle school science teacher looking to introduce an after-school science club into electronics. I've only just begun diving in myself, but I want to initially have them use Ohm's Law to calculate the amount of resistance needed to light various colored LEDs using regular AA or C/D batteries.

My question is this: I'm looking for a cheap way to make a "circuit" board...a way for them to connect wires together as they choose. I was thinking that taking a thin wooden board and installing screws in a grid pattern all along the top would give them a way to loosen the screws a little and then and put the wires underneath the head of the screw to hold the wire in place.
Something similar to this:
Simple_Electric_Circuit_ON_L.jpg

Is this an even remotely good idea, or would touching the exposed screws/wires in the circuit be a recipe for electrocution by battery? Thanks in advance.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hi all,

I'm a middle school science teacher looking to introduce an after-school science club into electronics. I've only just begun diving in myself, but I want to initially have them use Ohm's Law to calculate the amount of resistance needed to light various colored LEDs using regular AA or C/D batteries.

My question is this: I'm looking for a cheap way to make a "circuit" board...a way for them to connect wires together as they choose. I was thinking that taking a thin wooden board and installing screws in a grid pattern all along the top would give them a way to loosen the screws a little and then and put the wires underneath the head of the screw to hold the wire in place.
Something similar to this:
Simple_Electric_Circuit_ON_L.jpg

Is this an even remotely good idea, or would touching the exposed screws/wires in the circuit be a recipe for electrocution by battery? Thanks in advance.
Working with LED's will require you to use 1 to 3 batteries depending on the color you want to light.