Connect with us

Looking for ACTUATOR / CONTROLLER suggestions.

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by anixon, Sep 16, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. anixon

anixon

Sep 16, 2013
    Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to electronics. I've used an arduino board in a physics lab and have some experience with NXC. Anyways, I'm on my own project now and I need some directions for components. What I need:

LINEAR ACTUATOR with variable travel between 0-3" approx. So can't just be an open close system, I'd need it to have the ability to stop at a position because I want the controller to be able to have a real time incremental movement from a sensor. It will need to pull about 8-10lb force.

CONTROLLER that can be flashed and programmed from a regular computer. Not picky about what sort of sdk or assembly language is used. It has to be able to take variable inputs from a push sensor and then move the actuator in stages based on the amount of pressure. I.E. for every 0.1" the push sensor travels, the actuator should expand/contract 0.5" or some other fixed ration programmed in.

Both parts need to be relatively compact. Can someone point me in the direction of what kinda of parts, brand/model, where to buy, etc? I'm really at the starting point here and don't know where to get this stuff.

Thanks so much!

2. Fish4Fun

Fish4Fun So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!

Aug 27, 2013
    Hrmm, let's have a go @ this.