Connect with us

Looking for 60A 60V mosfet

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by asaf123098, Dec 30, 2019.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. asaf123098

    asaf123098

    12
    0
    May 23, 2017
    Hello, im looking to buy a mosfet/mosfets to hook on parallel that can serve as an on/off switch for my electric skateboard.
    I already ordered some from ebay but they didn't work, im trying to find something better, can anyone recommend a specific model?
    The gs voltage needs to be 12v
    Thanks!
     
  2. Alec_t

    Alec_t

    2,759
    733
    Jul 7, 2015
    In what way?
     
  3. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,664
    2,019
    Nov 17, 2011
    Try one of the many parametric search pages, e.g.this one. You enter all the parameters relevant to you and get a list of suitable components.
     
  4. bertus

    bertus

    341
    110
    Nov 8, 2019
    Hello,

    Does this list help?

    I wanted to upload a spreadsheet, but the forum does not allow it.
    I have attached the spreadsheet by adding.txt
    Remove the .txt to reveal the spreadsheet, that can be opened in office.

    Bertus
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 30, 2019
  5. Bluejets

    Bluejets

    3,779
    783
    Oct 5, 2014
    As already asked but not answered, why...?
     
  6. Nanren888

    Nanren888

    197
    36
    Nov 8, 2015
    Or to put the same question another way: in what way did the previous FETs not work?
     
  7. asaf123098

    asaf123098

    12
    0
    May 23, 2017
    Drain and source were not "divided" when applying voltage from drain to source, it worked regardless of the gate source voltage

    Thanks, i i could find only this one:
    https://eu.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Infineon-IR/IRF3708PBF?qs=2r01AXMCG3P2FLBF0Ge6xA==

    But the drain source breakdown voltage is 30v, i i need 60v, is it possible to wire 2 of those in series in order to "raise" the breakdown voltage?
    Thanks, ill have a look when im in front of a computer :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2020
  8. duke37

    duke37

    5,299
    739
    Jan 9, 2011
    You can get mosfets with voltage capabilty in the hundreds so why use a specialised 30V transistor? You can only use two in series with extra circuitry and should only be necessary above 500V.

    If the mosfets are conducting all the time, have you got the base connected to the source properly or have you popped them with excess voltage?

    Show us the schematic.
     
  9. Fish4Fun

    Fish4Fun So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!

    453
    103
    Aug 27, 2013
    asaf123098,

    It is probably a bad time to ask, but are you trying to switch:

    1) The High Side

    2) The Low Side

    Assuming you are using an N-Channel mosfet to switch the Low Side (as you probably should be), the basic schematic will look like this:
    N Channel Mosfet.jpg
    With an N-Channel Mosfet the control signal = "ON" is typically 3V - 15V (referenced to ground) and "OFF" is ground (or close to ground). If you only have 60Vdc then you could create a voltage divider like this:
    VD N Channel Mosfet.jpg
    If you are using a voltage other than 60Vdc, you would want to adjust the resistor values to insure that you meet the mosfet's gate voltage requirements.

    If you are using a P-Channel mosfet to switch the High Side (you probably Should NOT do this) the basic schematic will look like this:

    P Channel Mosfet.jpg

    With a P-Channel Mosfet the control signal is referenced to Vcc (in this case 60Vdc), to turn this P-Channel Mosfet "ON" the gate voltage needs to be ~12V LESS than 60V. To turn a P-Channel Mosfet "OFF" the Gate Voltage = Vcc (in this case 60Vdc).

    These schematics assume that the control signal is coming from a simple push-button switch and therefore the "Turn-On" and "Turn-Off" times are trivial compared to typical "ON" & "OFF" periods. If a PWM source is used for speed control in place of a simple PB Switch then careful attention to the switching characteristics of the actual mosfet being used would be critical.

    Hope this helps!

    FIsh
     
    hevans1944 likes this.
  10. bertus

    bertus

    341
    110
    Nov 8, 2019
    Hello,

    @Fish4Fun , I would place zener diodes of 12 Volts accross the gate/source connections for protection of the mosfet, in the 2nd and 3rd schematic.

    Bertus
     
  11. asaf123098

    asaf123098

    12
    0
    May 23, 2017
    My main problem is that i couldn't find a transostor matchingy needs, my preference would be to use only one transistor.

    Thanks!!
    My plan is to implement the first schmatic in you comment.
     
  12. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,664
    2,019
    Nov 17, 2011
    What were your parameters? There are definitely MOSFETs available with higher voltage ratings. You do not look for Vds = 60 V but for Vds > 60 V.
    You should never operate a component at the limits of its datasheet values. Always include some safety margin. For a 60 V power supply I would use approx. 20 % safety margin which results in a MOSFET with Vds >= 72 V.
    What current do you need?

    That's good. However, how did you test in the first place? Show us a diagram of your circuit.

    Be aware that you very likely will have to use a heatsink to drain excess heat from the MOSfet away. Otherwise it may easily die from overheating.
     
  13. Alec_t

    Alec_t

    2,759
    733
    Jul 7, 2015
    One thing you MUST add is a reverse-biased diode across the motor, otherwise the back-emf generated when the FET switches off will kill the FET.
     
    bertus likes this.
  14. Fish4Fun

    Fish4Fun So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!

    453
    103
    Aug 27, 2013
    @ bertus & Alec_t

    Yes, there are several refinements I would make to the posted schematic(s) prior to implementation ... not the least of which would be some type of **speed regulation** ... 60V @ 60A = 3.6kW .... on a "skateboard" no less ... but I thought it prudent to test if the OP was at least connecting the proper type Mosfet in the proper configuration before working out the nuances ;-)

    It is possible that the OP is designing a constant speed, variable torque drive ... a skateboard that only moves 3mph but is capable of pulling a wagon load of friends up a steep hill .... ? Though I suspect that inquiring into ways to switch 3.6kW on/off (on a skateboard) might be more indicative of a person with a bit more need for speed.

    I think a Mosfet blown from over-stress, back-emf or even a damaged gate might be the situational equivalent of an air-bag ;-)

    Cheers!

    Fish
     
  15. Fish4Fun

    Fish4Fun So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!

    453
    103
    Aug 27, 2013
    @asaf123098

    Actually, thinking about the parameters you have given, I have to ask ...

    Are you attempting to control the motor (presumably a permanent magnet motor with a conventional armature) with your circuit ??

    Or

    Are you simply wanting to turn the power on/off to an existing DC motor speed control?

    The answer really makes a lot of difference ...

    Fish
     
  16. BobK

    BobK

    7,673
    1,684
    Jan 5, 2010
    I get 740 matching results on Mouser when I search for N-charnnel MOSFETs with >= 60V Vds and >= 60A Id.

    It seems to me that one of these might be OK for you.

    Bob
     
    hevans1944 and Harald Kapp like this.
  17. asaf123098

    asaf123098

    12
    0
    May 23, 2017
    Hi, my parameters are:
    - 20a continues and 30+- at peaks
    - 50v on drain
    - 12v on gate

    For that i was looking for a 60a60v drain transistor, with gate that operates at 12v

    I didn't test it, i don't have any transistors laying around, i did try the schematic same as mentioned (only without a resistor for the button) with a relay and it worked.

    For the amount of current im planning to use continuesly i was hoping the transistor won't get really got.

    Im using an electronic speed controller to operate the motor, the transistor is just to operate is a kill switch for the entire system.

    It seems i failed to mention that as you are not the only one who thought about that :)

    As mentioned above, i already have an electronic speed controller, im just trying to make an on off switch :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2020
  18. Bluejets

    Bluejets

    3,779
    783
    Oct 5, 2014
    Rather difficult trying to decipher just what it is exactly that you need.
    Best approach is sketch up a diagram and others can go from there.
     
    bertus likes this.
  19. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,664
    2,019
    Nov 17, 2011
    Then how do you come to the conclusion in your 1st post?
     
  20. bertus

    bertus

    341
    110
    Nov 8, 2019
    Hello,

    What speed controller are you using?
    Does it have an enable input?
    If so, that can likely be used as kill switch.

    Bertus
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-