Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LM358 problem

spencer2004

May 1, 2013
Hi, first of all I'd like to say that I am pretty new to electronics and as I have learned everything I know from the internet there are massive gaps in my knowledge so forgive me for using the incorrect terminology, etc.

I am building an LED tester which logs the current draw of an LED across a pre-set voltage range, to measure the current draw I am measuring the voltage drop across a 0.1 ohm shunt resistor, the voltage drop is amplified by a LM358 op amp with a gain of 30 then read by an Arduino. The problem I have is the op amp does not work correctly for voltage drops below 0.03v which means that I can't measure current draws below 300mA. I measured the output of the op amp with different voltage differences in 0.01v steps and from a voltage difference of 0.03v onwards it works as it should.

I have checked that I have built the amplifying circuit properly about 10 times, and I have made sure that the LM358 is not defective. The LM358 is powered by a 12V rail.

I have Googled this a bit and I'm not sure if there is a way to modify the circuit to allow smaller currents to be measured without increasing the resistance of the shunt resistor.

If someone could give me some guidance on the matter I would be very grateful.

OLIVE2222

Oct 2, 2011
Hi Spencer and welcome to this forum !

Look at the LM358 input offest, you will find a 2mV figure to be multiplied by your 30X gain.
Even with the input grounded you can have 60mV at the output! Low shunt value are often used when significant currents are present to avoid losses. Here you want losses in the led limitation resistances to avoid to burn it! So better to measure the led current at this (precision) limitation resistance. depending on the setup it may even happen that you don't need the LM358 at all.

Olivier

spencer2004

May 1, 2013