Connect with us

LM317 Power Supply: Two quick questions

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by TheLaw, Nov 24, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. TheLaw

TheLaw

Sep 27, 2010
    Hi guys,

---BACKGROUND---

Well as you may or may not know, I am pretty new to electronics. I have some equipment but I still lack other important aspects of a good electronics lab. Well some of my previous experiments have been disasters. Maybe I was trying for something too extravagant. But I thought I'd try something more useful that will actually help me and won't kill my wallet or time in the process.

[​IMG]

This is currently what my setup looks like. Multimeter (Amprobe AM-220), soldering iron (Weller WLC-100), solder wire (Kester 44: 63/37), and a third hand.

---QUESTION---

So I want to build a small low current variable voltage power supply for some projects I have a head of me.

I am essentially following the schematic from the LM317 datasheet but I happen to find a nice picture filled tutorial so I said "why not". (http://www.ladyada.net/library/equipt/diypsupp.html)

My question is to do with the source voltage. I would like to use a 15V unregulated power adapter instead of a 9V battery.

1.) I would like to get a full spectrum of voltages. Does the value of the potentiometer affect the min and max output voltages?

2.) In regards to the LED resistor, is 1K still appropriate even with an increased supply voltage?

I am thinking about putting a fuse in between the transformer and the power supply circuit. I've bumped up the caps to about 100uF each, hopefully for better filtering. Any other things that can get me even cleaner power?

Notice I am still not grasping a couple of concepts. I am trying but I am so eager to get working.

Thanks.

Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
  2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    What current can your transformer supply?

What current do you require for your load?