Connect with us

LM317 as current regulator

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by conntaxman, Sep 4, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. conntaxman

conntaxman

Jun 17, 2011
    Im just learning so bare with me. I want to use leds for a small light. I know that the supply voltage is very low and you will Burn out the led it you go above that. Now im confused a little with the LM317. Link http://www.reuk.co.uk/LM317-Current-Calculator.htm
    they are saying that all you need is that one resistor to light the led with about 20ma. So now if the input voltage is 12vdc wouldn't that come out as about 9 volts seeing that the 317 looses about 3 vdc. I have two small batteries 3.2vdc x 1000ma. and Im going to make a solar charger also useing the LM317 . I will be putting the 2 batteries in seires ,6.4 volts..
    I know that the first question said that I was going to feed the leds with 12vdc.
    I just want to know about the voltage and the amp. part for the OUTPUT pin. I thought it would have to be about 2 volts x 20ma for the led
    tks
    John
    I know dumb question. but if you don't know the answer it isn't.

2. shrtrnd

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
    The LM317 is and ADJUSTABLE voltage regulator.
    You'll need more to your circuit than a resistor and an LED.
    Google some LED circuits using the LM317 to get the voltage ADJUSTED to what you need.

3. conntaxman

conntaxman

Jun 17, 2011
  4. jackorocko

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
    they are not using the LM317 as it was intentionally designed for. They are using it at its minimum output voltage to regulate current through a LED.

5. davelectronic

davelectronic

Dec 13, 2010
    Led LM317 voltage regulator

Hi there.
    Why not build the LM317 as a supply, use current limiting resistor's single led or series with a sensible in put to the LM317 your get the 1.5 amps, the resistor's will limit the current, single or series.