Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LM2917 Speed Switch Help!!! PLEASE!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

hpfiend

Feb 20, 2013
Hi all,

I am a complete newbie... After lots of research I have purchased lots of parts and tried several thing and still can't get it to work!

Using the schematic on page 9 of the pdf here
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm2917-n.pdf,
figure 7 "Speed Switch" I have assembled a solderless breadboard.

I used an LM2917N-8 and connected it as follows:

OK first of all- I am assuming positioning the little half circle notch to the left with the text reading right side up from left to right is how you orient it? The bottom left most pin I call 1. and the bottom right most pin is 4

pin 1 to frequency pulse positive
pin 2 a 10uF capacitor and then to ground
pin 3 a jumper to one side of 5.1K resistor (reads 4.97 on MM) then other leg jumper to ground
pin 3 a 1uF capacitor in row of jumper and then other leg to ground
pin 4 jumper to ground
pin 5 ground side (outside) of 12 volt light bulb positive side of light bulb (center) is to the positive row.
pin 6 one leg of 5.1K resistor and other leg to pin 7
pin 6 jumper in same row and then to positive source (Vcc)
pin 7 one leg of first 5.1K resistor (from pin 6) and then first leg of second 5.1 K resistor, the other leg goes to pin 8
pin 8 final leg of pin 7 resistor and then a jumper in same row to ground
I then have a 9 volt battery hooked up to the positive and ground rows
Finally I have a jumper from the top row ground to the bottom row ground and then a ground jumper to ground of the frequency source

Using 1/ (2RC) the threshold frequency to turn the bulb on should be 10 Hz.

I tried a 10k linear potentiometer at R instead of the 5.1K resistor and set it to 5 with my multimeter and it did not work either