Connect with us

lighting my canopy

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by D_C, Jan 26, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. D_C

D_C

Jan 10, 2013
    Hello a fellow noob here :)

I am looking at doing a road trip soon so have been brainstorming to many ideas :p

I will be throwing a canopy on my truck and using it as a hotel for a couple days and after that putting tools in an out which at times it is dark when putting or taking out so I was thinking of maybe doing a few strings of L.E.D's inside of it (more for the fun of learning)

I was thinking of using a push button like a car door light. pressed is off, open canopy and button pops out which turns lights on. I was at Mouser getting ideas of supply costs and had about 50 choices of push buttons o_O

I one was hoping I could be pointed in the right direction on what they call that button so I get the right one, and two get you opinion if what else I am looking at will work the way I am thinking

I saw these L.E.D's http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...=sGAEpiMZZMs4quMj8r4lmjoci3y7E1p8Zz1pHxFB3vw= and saw they put out about 6800 mcd with 55 deg angle so am I right on thinking a few of these could light the inside of my canopy well, if they do how many would you think it would take to light it up.

8 foot bed 5 foot wide about maybe 4 foot high.

I was also thinking of making a timer for it so if the lights are on for to long they will shut off before draining my battery.

I was looking at this http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...=sGAEpiMZZMtgJDuTUz7Xu3PDTrl3mE4wRUK06EhFhVA= and was wondering if this will work. As a noob I don't know how exactly it works but I was looking for something to handle extreme temps. I am going from 80F (26C) temps to down to -20F (-29C) temps and will be cold for a few more months.

This is still in thinking stage so any input on how I should do it or things I need to think about will be more then welcome.

2. PTaylor

PTaylor

Jan 26, 2013