Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Lightbar Flasher

deat66

Jan 20, 2011
Good Afternoon,

A friend brought me a LED light-bar flasher board that he had tried to repair (unknown what else was done). I was asked to replace a capacitor which I did and it will only flash once when the circuit is energized. If I remove power for a few seconds and re-energize it will flash again but only once. I am very new to this sort of thing and would appreciate any advice you may have. Nothing is obviously burnt, I have attached pics. If you could let me know what portion of the circuit causes the unit to flash and/or any troubleshooting tips you may have.

TIA

David

Attachments

• Picture 031a.jpg
    Picture 031a.jpg
    24.6 KB · Views: 250

deat66

Jan 20, 2011
New Info - it actually flashes when the circuit breaks or at the moment power is removed

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
The picture is too small to say very much (if anything) specific, but there is a crystal there (metal can), and those can break (inside) if they're exposed to hard impacts.
It then stops oscillating. It needs to oscillate to make the controller IC run.

deat66

Jan 20, 2011
I tried to upload a larger pic but I think it wanted something 146k or less....at any rate, yes it has a metal can and it says 400 MHz on it, is there any way I can test it without an O-scope? (Still waiting to find one I can afford). OR is there something else I can "eliminate", all I have right now is a DMM and a homemade bench power supply.

Thank you!

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
If you take the original picture into Paint, stretch/skew the image to 50/33/25% as suitable, and then resave it, it'll be harder compressed than with many other ways.
It'll also help readability with a shot from straight above, with the PCB filling the picture to the edges, and no other clutter in the way/around (which helps reduce size too).