Connect with us

Light my lamps please!

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by Theotokos, Oct 23, 2017.

1. Theotokos

Theotokos

Oct 23, 2017
    Hello and thank you for viewing my post. I have what may seem as a rather simple inquiry for my electrical knowledge is but on a high school level.
    With Christmas coming up I purchased a miniature village along with various decorations and figurines.
    What troubles me is the pair of battery operated street lamps.
    They run off two AA batteries but seem to only last a couple of hours before draining the batteries.
    Is there an alternative I can use besides the AA batteries?
    Like I stated, I have little electrical knowledge but I know my way around a soldering iron!
    Are there any alternatives, maybe a way I can make them plug into a wall perhaps and rid myself of buying batteries every other day?
    Thanks for any help you can provide!

Attached Files:

2. Minder

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
    If you have two cells for each lamp then you could try using a 5v (6v are scarce) wall-wart and wire the Lights in series, observe polarity if LED.
    If only 2 cells then we would have to go to plan B.
    M.,

Theotokos likes this.
  3. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    Alternatively, use rechargeable batteries. You'll still have to swap them every few hours, but you don't have to buy new ones, simply recharge.

Theotokos likes this.
  4. ChosunOne

ChosunOne

Jun 20, 2010
    I just searched "3 VDC power supply"
    I just searched "3 VDC power supply" on eBay and got 1611 hits. They looked like mostly wall-warts.
    Alternately, a homemade 3VDC isn't that hard to put together from components if OP wants to go that route.

5. Minder

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
    The ebay route maybe the way to go then.?
    M.

6. Theotokos

Theotokos

Oct 23, 2017