Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Lift 1 kg weight using wind power from a fan

PhysicsStudent

Jan 17, 2015
Hi everyone,

I am a physics student that is relatively new in the world of electronics and I would like to incorporate electronics in my upcoming project. I do not have a very strong background in electronics, but I am definitely ready to learn. So please have patience with any of my dumb questions or ideas. Here it goes:

For the project I must lift a mass of 1 kg a specified height using only wind power from a fan. My plan is to create a wind turbine/generator using a dc motor. I would then convert the dc voltage to ac using an inverter. After that I would run this current through a transformer and later convert it back to dc in order to power a motor to lift the mass up an inclined plane. So here are my questions...

Is my plan even reasonable/possible?
If so what is the best way to go about building the step-up transformer and inverter?
Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you so much, and I apologize once again in advance for any dumb questions/ideas.

Thank you for your time!!!!

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hi everyone,

I am a physics student that is relatively new in the world of electronics and I would like to incorporate electronics in my upcoming project. I do not have a very strong background in electronics, but I am definitely ready to learn. So please have patience with any of my dumb questions or ideas. Here it goes:

For the project I must lift a mass of 1 kg a specified height using only wind power from a fan. My plan is to create a wind turbine/generator using a dc motor. I would then convert the dc voltage to ac using an inverter. After that I would run this current through a transformer and later convert it back to dc in order to power a motor to lift the mass up an inclined plane. So here are my questions...

If so what is the best way to go about building the step-up transformer and inverter?