Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Li ion Battery charge and use circuit

Royrdan Ross

Feb 3, 2017
Hi guys! I'm new to electronics (self taught) and still trying to wrap my head around a few things. Ive got a Li ion battery pack (4 x 18650 batteries) rated at 14.8v. Ive built a robot with 2 x 12v motors for motion, a raspberry pi and some ultrasonic sensors. What I want to do is the robot run on battery power but to be able to charge from a wall plug without interrupting the power supply. Ive drawn up a circuit that explains how I think I can set this up but not sure if this will work? (Sorry if it's dodgy) I haven't been able to find any difinitive information on this.
The wall provides 24v which is regulated to 16.8v through a charge controller to charge the battery. And regulated to 12v for the motors. Which is then regulated to 5v for the pi and powering the sensors etc. I believe the battery won't discharge and will charge if there is a higher voltage against it. So when the power is disconnected. The battery takes over with 14.8v(average) and regulated to 12v to 5v etc as before. I believe I'll need a diode from battery to 12v regulator so 24v isn't sent straight to the battery.

Can anyone tell me if this will work?
If not, how can this be achieved or is there an easier way of doing this?
Thanks for any help!

Attachments

• 20170203_192103.jpg
    20170203_192103.jpg
    113.6 KB · Views: 63

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
24v to 12v regulator is going to put a lot of unnecessary strain on your 12v regulator.
Better to come from the battery.
Only problem then is when the battery starts to get down in voltage, the regulator may not do it's job quite as well.
Perhaps use a low drop out version.
LiFePo4 require dedicated chargers to monitor min and max charge voltage of the cells, not just any old off the shelf charger.
Cells may need protection pcb boards fitted as well just to be on the safe side.

Royrdan Ross

Feb 3, 2017