Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LED's in PCB project - using different LED's

dynamis_dk

Jan 27, 2010
Firstly hi everyone - another electro-noob joining in :)

I'm making a PCB to backlight some temprature dials in a car to replace the poor lighting effect you get just replacing the bulbs.

I've worked out i need 15 LED's to light each section of the dial so my plan was to have 5x sets of 3 LED's in series each with a resistor. Problem has come to light when i've looked up the voltage requirements for each LED. The blue LED's (13 of the 15) are all 3.0-3.2 but the remaining 2 LED's are red which use 2.0-2.3v.

Would i be best off redisigning the PCB layout to have the 2 Red LED's running on there own with a bigger resistor, or running all the LED's at 2v, 3 in each group with a resistor in each group??

If it helps i can upload an image of the PCB i've worked on so far.

I've never done this before other than swapping LED's over in existing hardware (i.e. keyboard LED's, siwtch LED's in cars etc) so be nice with me :) Haven't done anything electronics theory based since school

Mitchekj

Jan 24, 2010
Heya,

I've attached a schematic which is based on what I think you're asking.
I'm assuming you're working with +12Vdc... and I'm not sure what kind of forward current the LEDs you're using should be run at, but those resistor values will give you ~20mA. Depending on the LED, it may rise to ~25mA when everything has reached a thermal stasis. All depends on the LEDs, power consumption, etc. You can monitor current and adjust the resistors as needed. I'd use 1/4W 1% metal film (if through hole) resistors, but you can probably get away w/ 1/8W 5% if you want to go super cheap.

Correct, you will need to drop more voltage across the resistor on the red/red/blue leg.