Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LED's for model truck

Robert (Bob) Haynes

Mar 7, 2015
I am new to electrinics and really don't have a clue what I am doing. I am trying to put 19 LED's of various colours in a wood model truck. I have tried a circut that I found in the internet but it won't work for me. It only lights up five LED's. I am using a wall wort 12V 2A supply through the circut as shown and am a bit afraid to modify the circut so I won't blow all the LED's. I really need help, if anyone out there can give me a hand it would be appreciated.

IMG_0001[1].JPG IMG_0003[1].JPG schematic[1].jpg IMG_0006.JPG

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi Bob,
welcome to the forums :)

not sure what the coil or the transistor and bits are for ?
was it supposed to be a flashing LED system ?

problem one ( ignoring for a moment the coil and transistor and bits)

19 LEDs in series each with a voltage drop of ~ 2 to 3 Volts = around 47V
and you are supplying 12V .... see the problem
you need to break them up into sets of only say 6 sets of 3 in series ( that would be 18 LEDs total)
you would also need some series resistors for current limiting

see this help resource on this site for using LEDs
https://www.electronicspoint.com/resources/got-a-question-about-driving-leds.5/

its likely to answer many questions :)

Dave

Robert (Bob) Haynes

Mar 7, 2015
Hey Dave,
This circut was originally to be powered with a 9 V dry cell and run 10 various colour LED's. It was from a site talkingelectronics.au. I thought that if I went up to 12 V it would power mor lights. I was obviously wrong. I did think that LED's were current driven at about 20 MA and voltage under 3 V. I have more reading to do by the looks of things.
Thanks for your link, I'll follow up.

Bob

Attachments

• schematic.jpg
    schematic.jpg
    278.9 KB · Views: 116

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hey Dave,