Connect with us

LED voltage rating

Discussion in 'Datasheets, Manuals and Component Identification' started by David Parker, Jul 31, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. David Parker

David Parker

Jul 31, 2010
    Hi. This is my first post here and I am fairly new to electronics. I am building a small project in which a microcontroller turns LEDs on and off. Each LED has a current-limiting resistor of 470 ohm. The supply to the microcontroller is 5 volts so the output from the pins is also 5 volts. I want to buy some LEDs but there is a bewildering range of voltages specified (input, ouput, operating etc). When I look for 5 volt LEDs the search brings up nothing. Please explain what these voltage ratings mean so I can choose the right LEDs for my project.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  2. Mitchekj

Mitchekj

Jan 24, 2010
    The voltage spec you're talking about is called the LED's forward voltage. This is the voltage required across its anode-cathode to get a certain current flowing through it. Is your microcontroller (henceforth: uC) a constant voltage output of 5Vdc? I don't know much about micros. :( But it would make sense to be a voltage source, not a current source.
    You're probably looking for an LED rated for ~20mA. Different colors will have different forward voltages (Vf). Different semiconductor chemistries will have slightly different Vf specs, too. All pertinent specs should be spelled out when you buy them.

In any case, that's what the resistor is for... to drop the 5V down to something the LED can use, like 2-3Vdc. You'd need to know the current from the uC outputs, and the voltage range of the LEDs you pick, to calculate the correct resistance.

Any LED should work fine. There aren't any (single die) LEDs which would require 5V or more. For instance: a 3.3Vdc forward voltage, 20mA forward current...

Vin - Vf(LED) = Voltage you need to drop over the resistor
    5V - 3.3V = 1.7

V / I = R
    1.7 / 0.020 = 85 Ohms