Connect with us

LED strips not lighting up

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by ChadVanHalen, Nov 22, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. ChadVanHalen

ChadVanHalen

Nov 22, 2015
    So I bought this amp and the guy I bought it from installed these green LEDs, plugged it in and they were working
    [​IMG]

He gave me the same 12v power supply and a couple days later the LEDs just didn't light up anymore. Nothing was dropped, nothing smells weird, just doesn't light up. Is there a somewhat simple fix? (I'm a guitarist so I have super basic soldering skills) or point me to a proper replacement strip that will work with the 12v power setup it came with?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Check that you're still getting 12V from the power adapter. Do you have a multimeter to check it?

3. hevans1944

hevans1944 Hop - AC8NS

Jun 21, 2012
    It is highly unlikely that there is anything wrong with your LED strip. The connection of the LED strip to the power supply cable, the one covered with shrink tubing, is probably the culprit. Use a single-edge razor blade to carefully cut the shrink tubing off so you can inspect the soldered connections without damaging the underlying insulation on the wires. One or both solder joints has probably failed. As @(*steve*) suggested, if you have a multimeter see if there is 12 V DC between the two exposed connections to the LED strip. You will have to replace the shrink tubing with a few wraps of black electrical tape.

Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  4. cjdelphi

cjdelphi

Oct 26, 2011
    First confirm you have an out voltage... if it was the led strip, they tend to fade before death unless the copper strip cracked....

5. ChadVanHalen

ChadVanHalen

Nov 22, 2015
    I don't own one, I should get one to have when working on guitars, I'll probably pick one up tomorrow