Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LED strip setup help

Game_of_Throwins

May 24, 2015
Hello everybody. I would like to ask any of you smart people for help. I'm very new to electronics but i've built myself a desk and shelving unit that i'm going to illuminate with 2 sets of LED stip lights. I want the setup to be like this:

MAINS -> 220v push switch -> 12v TRANSFORMER -> (12v LED push switch -> LED strip) x2

I want 1 switch before the transformer so its not on all the time. Ive got everything wired up and working how i want it but ive got a problem with the 220v push switch. When i switch it on the transformer is powered up and the LED ring of the switch is iluminated as it should be. But when i switch it off the light dims to nothing but then lights back up again very very faintly.

Attatched are pictures of how i have the circuit wired.

Attachments

• Switches.jpg
    Switches.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 104
  • Wiring.jpg
    Wiring.jpg
    26.6 KB · Views: 108

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome aboard.
What do the colors in your diagram signify (which ióne is hot, neutral, etc.)?
What type are the switches? Do you have a datasheet? The label states +/- for the LED ring, but you seem to have it connected to mains which doesn't look right.

Game_of_Throwins

May 24, 2015
Thank you for the welcome and reply. Apologies for not labeling the colours in my diagram... forgot. In the 220v AC brown-live (or hot), blue-neutral, green-earth. In the 12v DC red-positive, black-negative. Im attatching the datasheet as a pdf. I have the LAS1-GQ-11E kind of switches. 1x 220v AC and 2x12v DC.

I always had it plugged up to a surge protected extention cord but when I plugged it straight into the wall there was some sparking from the bottom of the switch... oops. Could it be possible that the switch has such a small tollerance for any kind of variable voltage from the mains?