Connect with us

LED Project help, please?

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by JayBlake, Apr 22, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. JayBlake

JayBlake

Apr 22, 2013
    I have been asked to help make an LED design work (because I'm a computer technician, it's assumed I am, ipso-facto, a guru in all things electrical).:eek:

Truth be known, I'm great at fixing PC's and sorting out software issues but have no idea where to start when it comes to circuits, resistors, capacitors etc.

I bought some bits'n'bobs from Amazon and ebay and am now the proud owner of Breadboard, LED's (various colours), mixed resistors and capacitors and even some 555 chips, cuz I don't want to let someone down, by being unable to help.

I have attached a photo of the LED project and would seriously appreciate any help that could be offered by those who have probably already forgotten more than I could ever hope to know, in this.

My task is, effectively, in two parts:

1) Light up the LED's as per the attached plan.:eek::eek:
    2) Get them to flash on-and-off.:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

I would be eternally grateful for help, pointers or other inspiration anyone might possibly extend to me in this.

Many thanks for reading.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  2. john monks

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
    Do you intend to use a computer to turn on and off the LED's?
    Are the LED's going to turn on and off to a particular pattern?

3. JayBlake

JayBlake

Apr 22, 2013
    Thanks for the reply.

No, I want the project to be standalone and run from battery.

No pattern, simply all on and all off repeatedly at, say, half-second intervals.

LED's are 5mm diameter, I forgot to mention.

:)

4. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    121 leds at 20mA is about 2.5A if run in parallel. What battery do you suggest?

5. JayBlake

JayBlake

Apr 22, 2013
    Is that beyond normal batteries?:confused:

We could always use a car battery, if so (unless it's also beyond that).