Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Led light setup. need help, will this work?

trebor

Apr 30, 2017
hey guys!

first of im new to the forum, hope i posted in the right place.
so, ive decided to make an led light setup, but i have no basic knowledge of electronics and/or electricity in general, so after alot of research i came up with this setup, and i would like to know if this will work and if it does, if its a safe setup.

for main power source i have modified an old pc power suply. on the 12v rail its rated at 11A wich would give me a total of 12v*11a = 132W, lets say 100-110W tops to be on the safe side.

with this psu idd like to power the following LEDs:
--------------------------------------------------------------
1) 1x 50W cob led @ 30-36v / 1.5A (with active cooling) + driven by a dc boost converter from ebay with the following speccs:

Input voltage: DC 10V-32V.
Output voltage: DC12V-35V(adjustable).
Output current: 10A (MAX).
Input current :16A (MAX) (more than 10A please strengthen heatsink).
Output power: natural cooling 100W (MAX), strengthening cooling 150W (MAX) real power.
Conversion efficiency: 94% (when Input 19V 2.5A Output 16V, Reference).
Output ripple: 2% (MAX).

50w led -> boost converter -> 12v dc power suply (pc psu)-> wall plug
--------------------------------------------------------------
2) 10x3w led 10 in series. 1 led is rated 3.2V-3.4V 560mA-700mA, so i figured 10 would be 32/43v @ 0,7mA + 30W constant current driver also from ebay with the follosing speccs:

Input Voltage: DC9-24V
Output Voltage: DC30-38V
Current:1000mA

10x3w in series -> constant current driver -> 12v dc power suply (pc psu) -. wall plug

-----------------------------------------------------------------

from what i have calculated i figured the 50W led would draw from the psu around 54W and the 10x3w leds would draw roughly 31W with a total power draw from the 12v power suply of 85W (12v*7A)

so my questions are: