Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Learning C language

Baxter Burgundy

Nov 18, 2014
Hello there everyone

I'm soon to be starting my final module for a distance learning electronics course, and for this module I am going to have to learn C language. I have never done any kind of programming before and I don't think it's something I will take to easily. So I would like to get a head start now and start trying to get my head around it.

Can anyone recommend a good book to learn C language for complete beginners?

Baxter Burgundy

Nov 18, 2014
I haven't looked at any tutorials, I thought I would ask here first to try and find out the best place to look for my level.

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi Baxter,
I have 'The Complete Idiots Guide To C++'.
It is very good, but books don't speak to me or answer questions if I get stuck.
I prefer watching hands on Youtube videos and guides. I find it's easier (for me) to see something rather than read.
As already stated, the online guides and communities are of much more help to me.

Martin

Baxter Burgundy

Nov 18, 2014
Ok thanks, are there any particular online guides or youtube authors you would recommend?

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
To be honest no..
The reason I say that is because everybody has a different learning curve and can understand things differently.
What works for me may not work for you.
I would suggest you spend two hours looking at different videos and see which ones you like the format of.
Some are very very basic which is good for me, others are quite in-depth which I don't have the aptitude for.

Martin

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
Hi Baxter. I was curious about the course you are taking. Would you recommend it? What is the name of it if you don't mind me asking?

Baxter Burgundy

Nov 18, 2014
@chopnhack I'm doing a Bsc in electronic engineering, it's part time distance learning. I would definitily recommend the course if you are looking for that kind of thing. There are lots of institutions that offer this kind of learning.