Connect with us

laser transmitting sound over 1 mile

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by ahmed fathi, Jun 25, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. ahmed fathi

ahmed fathi

Jun 25, 2013
    Hello,

I am an engineering student , beginner in electronics , and I wanted to ask :

If I try to make a transmission of sound using laser over 1 mile in the darkness, and about 50 meters in the light , how much would something like that cost , and where to start learning about what to do ?!

to clarify : it is some kind of competition between students , ending in about two weeks , between teams not individuals

thanks in advance

2. poor mystic

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
    :)
    A very good practical worker with an excellent knowledge of physics and access to a decent workshop might succeed at low cost in a few days. A beginner might spend huge sums and several months, and blind himself or someone else - all for no result.

To build such a project requires knowledge of communications systems, electronics, and laser physics.
    Lasers are very dangerous. I hope you are not thinking of actually building a system?

3. ahmed fathi

ahmed fathi

Jun 25, 2013
  4. ahmed fathi

ahmed fathi

Jun 25, 2013
    and it is supposed to be for students , to raise their practical performance ..

If you see no way to eliminate these serious dangers, I will ask them who suggested these conditions not simpler ones :)) .. Can't we use some laser pen , more powerful than the small common one but not that dangerous , or something like these lights used to emit light in the sky in celebrations or something ?

5. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    yes you could use a laser pen, tho there are other laser diodes that have a little bit more power you may find a laser pen is ~ 1 or 2mW where the max allowable in most countries is 5mW and 5mW laser diodes are readily available.

you need to be able to modulate the diode power supply with the audio signal